For some reason everyone thinks Rebic was booked twice against England but not sent off
There have been many embarrassing moments for England at the World Cup down the years.
But lets be honest, nothing will beat Graham Poll booking Croatia’s Josep Simunic three times before finally sending him off.
England became a laughing stock in the refereeing world and we weren’t far off it when it came to the actual football.
Thankfully, in Russia the team performed above themselves and we can forget all the hurt from before and focus on the positives.
But in the most ironic circumstances there was another card controversy involving Croatia at a World Cup.
Well that’s if you are listening to all the football experts on social media.
Lots of people on the Twittersphere lost their minds over a moment when Croatia’s Ante Rebic appeared to be shown two yellow cards by the referee without being sent off.
Clearly England fans first reaction is to assume the referee was biased or worse.
Luckily for you lot we are here to clear up any confusion over what exactly happened during the incident.
And I can tell you right now that it had absolutely no bearing on England getting knocked out by the Croats.
So Rebic committed a foul in the 48th minute and referee Cuneyt Cakir blew his whistle for the free-kick.
However, in the background AMrio Mandzukic did not agree with the decision and did his best angry school boy impression by throwing the ball off the pitch.
Blatant yellow card.
Cakir ran forward and brandished his weapon of choice and although he was facing Rebic, he clearly points to Mandzukic to signify it’s for throwing the ball away.
This is all takes on huge importance when during extra time Rebic is booked for another foul and shown a yellow card by Cakir.
Obviously, it being his first card he shouldn’t be sent off.
And with that the matter is put to bed.
Graham Poll, you remain by yourself my friend.